Designing a Pantheon...

This is a place for G.M.s and GM wannabes to share ideas and their own methods of play. It is not a locked forum so be aware your players may be watching!

Moderators: Immortals, Supreme Beings, Old Ones

Gazirra
Dungeon Crawler
Comment: I've got the brain of a four year old. I'll bet he was glad to be rid of it.
-Groucho Marx

Designing a Pantheon...

Unread post by Gazirra »

I'm finally doing one of the biggest things a GM can do: I'm designing a setting of my own. I'm just starting out, with a semi-tropical archipelago, with a major trade city/port on the largest island.

I'm wondering if there are any general tips/methods for designing the pantheons of this new world. I've never really done either making my own world or gods or anything, so I'm curious of how other people do it :D
Severus Snape
Hero
Comment: You ought to be careful. People will think you're....up....to something.

Re: Designing a Pantheon...

Unread post by Severus Snape »

The best advice I can give you is to not give up. No matter how stuck you are, or criticism you get from other people, or anything - don't give up. With that said...

It might be easiest to design a small section of the archipelago first, like a section away from the major city, and then define its peoples and their customs. Once that is done, the religious pantheon should be relatively easy to do.
The Dark Elf
Rifter® Contributer
Comment: "So gentlemen, are you prepared to open your minds and travel to worlds hitherto undreamed of?"

Unread post by The Dark Elf »

I agree. Design the worshippers first. What do they pray for the most? and design the pantheon around what fits the bill.
Rifter 52 Cannibal Magic
Rifter 55 The Ancestral Mystic P.C.C.
Rifter 59 The Lopanic Games adventure "The Lion, the Ditch & the Warlock". Illustrations to this adventure can be found here.
Rifter 71 & 72 Double Issue Ninjas & Superspies adventure "On a Wing & a Prayer"
Rifter 80 Masters Unlimited
Beatmeclever
Adventurer