Summon Rodents for animal sacrifice.
Posted: Mon May 27, 2019 12:12 pm
Summon rodents for animal sacrifice. Thoughts, ideas, suggestions, comments, etc?
Welcome to the Megaverse® of Palladium Books®
https://www.palladiumbooks.com/forums/
https://www.palladiumbooks.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=157535
Mark Hall wrote:I tend to suggest it, in Palladium Fantasy. The Summon Animal circle can be used to summon the creature need as a sacrifice for another circle.
Shark_Force wrote:for the most part, sacrifice needs to be a pretty personal thing. you could maybe summon a ton of rodents and sacrifice them, but you wouldn't be looking at a situation where you could just get them all to step into a trap, press the button, and get your PPE. you could presumably sacrifice them one by one, which is going to take a while.
Jack Burton wrote:A few people have suggested that you can't do mass sacrifices of rodents to get their PPE. WHY NOT? Where in the rules does it prohibit that? On page 181 of Palladium Fantasy 2nd Edition, it discusses blood sacrifices. I don't see anything there listing the reasons previously cited. It simply says that a sorcerer can use DOUBLE the PPE of whatever is being killed. If I'm missing something, please let me know, because I might not have all the information.
eliakon wrote:Jack Burton wrote:A few people have suggested that you can't do mass sacrifices of rodents to get their PPE. WHY NOT? Where in the rules does it prohibit that? On page 181 of Palladium Fantasy 2nd Edition, it discusses blood sacrifices. I don't see anything there listing the reasons previously cited. It simply says that a sorcerer can use DOUBLE the PPE of whatever is being killed. If I'm missing something, please let me know, because I might not have all the information.
We are told pretty clearly that you can't harvest the PPE from combat for example. If you have a way to kill all the animals *simultaneously* and that method is something you can incorporate into your spell ritual... then you might have a case.
But so far no one has ever presented a plausible way to do it that doesn't violate the "you can't harvest the PPE from combat" rule. If you feel that you can do so, with out using house rules... be my guest.
Jack Burton wrote:eliakon wrote:Jack Burton wrote:A few people have suggested that you can't do mass sacrifices of rodents to get their PPE. WHY NOT? Where in the rules does it prohibit that? On page 181 of Palladium Fantasy 2nd Edition, it discusses blood sacrifices. I don't see anything there listing the reasons previously cited. It simply says that a sorcerer can use DOUBLE the PPE of whatever is being killed. If I'm missing something, please let me know, because I might not have all the information.
We are told pretty clearly that you can't harvest the PPE from combat for example. If you have a way to kill all the animals *simultaneously* and that method is something you can incorporate into your spell ritual... then you might have a case.
But so far no one has ever presented a plausible way to do it that doesn't violate the "you can't harvest the PPE from combat" rule. If you feel that you can do so, with out using house rules... be my guest.
Who said anything about combat? No one. My example was a pit of fire. That's not combat and it would kill all of them simultaneously.
eliakon wrote:Jack Burton wrote:eliakon wrote:Jack Burton wrote:A few people have suggested that you can't do mass sacrifices of rodents to get their PPE. WHY NOT? Where in the rules does it prohibit that? On page 181 of Palladium Fantasy 2nd Edition, it discusses blood sacrifices. I don't see anything there listing the reasons previously cited. It simply says that a sorcerer can use DOUBLE the PPE of whatever is being killed. If I'm missing something, please let me know, because I might not have all the information.
We are told pretty clearly that you can't harvest the PPE from combat for example. If you have a way to kill all the animals *simultaneously* and that method is something you can incorporate into your spell ritual... then you might have a case.
But so far no one has ever presented a plausible way to do it that doesn't violate the "you can't harvest the PPE from combat" rule. If you feel that you can do so, with out using house rules... be my guest.
Who said anything about combat? No one. My example was a pit of fire. That's not combat and it would kill all of them simultaneously.
And violates the rules![]()
No seriously. The mage must be the one that murders the animal. It specifically states those exact words in the text.
Dropping them into a fire pit is not murdering them yourself.
Let me try again.
If you have a way to kill all the animals:
1) Simultaneously
and
2) That method is something you can incorporate into your spell ritual
and
3) That still follows the "the mage murders their victim" statement.
and
4) does not involve "combat" (so no using killing spells for example)
Then you might have a case.
But so far no one has ever presented a plausible way to do it that doesn't violate one or more of the prongs of the "Is this rules legal" test.
pblackcrow wrote:Where does it specifically state that you can not use a spells to kill a sacrifice?
eliakon wrote:If you have a way to kill all the animals *simultaneously*
eliakon wrote:pblackcrow wrote:Where does it specifically state that you can not use a spells to kill a sacrifice?
That would be "combat"
It is an "attack" and that is pretty much the definition of combat and combat is pretty clearly explicitly forbidden.
Axelmania wrote:eliakon wrote:If you have a way to kill all the animals *simultaneously*
Given the long casting times of rituals, why would the deaths have to be simultaneous? Why not space them out killing one rat per minute over an hour to get 60 PPE?eliakon wrote:pblackcrow wrote:Where does it specifically state that you can not use a spells to kill a sacrifice?
That would be "combat"
It is an "attack" and that is pretty much the definition of combat and combat is pretty clearly explicitly forbidden.
Stabbing someone with a dagger is also combat. Combat usually implies someone fighting back, I think if someone's tied up and you're shooting fish in a barrel that it wouldn't really fit that label.
eliakon wrote:pblackcrow wrote:Where does it specifically state that you can not use a spells to kill a sacrifice?
That would be "combat"
It is an "attack" and that is pretty much the definition of combat and combat is pretty clearly explicitly forbidden.
dreicunan wrote:Axelmania wrote:eliakon wrote:If you have a way to kill all the animals *simultaneously*
Given the long casting times of rituals, why would the deaths have to be simultaneous? Why not space them out killing one rat per minute over an hour to get 60 PPE?eliakon wrote:pblackcrow wrote:Where does it specifically state that you can not use a spells to kill a sacrifice?
That would be "combat"
It is an "attack" and that is pretty much the definition of combat and combat is pretty clearly explicitly forbidden.
Stabbing someone with a dagger is also combat. Combat usually implies someone fighting back, I think if someone's tied up and you're shooting fish in a barrel that it wouldn't really fit that label.
Finally have access to my books again. Book of Magic page 21 makes it clear that you actually CAN draw the PPE from someone you slay in combat. To do so you have to be the one who delivers the death blow and also KNOW that you delivered a death blow so that you can be prepared to absorb the PPE. Thus, you generally can't absorb it in conflict due to the lack of being prepared to absorb the PPE (because you are busy fighting), not because combat prevents it in and of itself.
The same clarification makes it clear that you can absorb the PPE from someone dying in your arms or on their deathbed if the mage is prepared to do so. Blood sacrifice is a convenient way of making sure that you are ready to absorb the PPE at the moment of death, not a prerequisite for doing so.
@Eliakon: if you have a different source to cite, please let us know.
eliakon wrote:One BIG question about this...
Can you absorb the PPE from more than one subject at a time? Or can you only absorb PPE from one source at a time?
If you are allowed to absorb from lots of point sources all at once, unlike when taking PPE from people... then this will work.
If you are only allowed to absorb from one source at a time, just like when taking PPE from people ... then it won't work.
eliakon wrote:I would like to point out that magic in Rifts works differently than magic in Palladium Fantasy.
Thus while this might work therefore in Rifts
It won't work in PF or HU or BTS
If you doubt me, go read the rules about drawing PPE from people. They are similar, but not the same.
Mark Hall wrote:Assuming you can arrange for the mass killing, I don't see a problem with gathering PPE from a bunch of rodents at once... or, really, a bunch of anything at once. RBoM allows for the absorption of well above the normal maximum of PPE, and so a mage prepared for the deaths shouldn't have a problem manipulating the surge of PPE. If you're dumping them in a big fire, they're all going to die more or less simultaneously, and, well, sacrifice by burning has a long history.
eliakon wrote:One BIG question about this...
Can you absorb the PPE from more than one subject at a time? Or can you only absorb PPE from one source at a time?
If you are allowed to absorb from lots of point sources all at once, unlike when taking PPE from people... then this will work.
If you are only allowed to absorb from one source at a time, just like when taking PPE from people ... then it won't work.
Honestly the same question is the one that bogs down discussions about stacking Talismans, or hording Energy Spheres, or any of the other "Infinite PPE" shenanigans of which this is only one.
eliakon wrote:I would like to point out that magic in Rifts works differently than magic in Palladium Fantasy.
Thus while this might work therefore in Rifts
It won't work in PF or HU or BTS
If you doubt me, go read the rules about drawing PPE from people. They are similar, but not the same.
dreicunan wrote:eliakon wrote:I would like to point out that magic in Rifts works differently than magic in Palladium Fantasy.
Thus while this might work therefore in Rifts
It won't work in PF or HU or BTS
If you doubt me, go read the rules about drawing PPE from people. They are similar, but not the same.
Feel free to show your work and cite some pages. I find nothing on p. 183 of Palldium Fantasy 2E that would prevent it from working, nor on page 317 of HU 2E, nor on BTS 1E p. 94.
eliakon wrote:dreicunan wrote:eliakon wrote:I would like to point out that magic in Rifts works differently than magic in Palladium Fantasy.
Thus while this might work therefore in Rifts
It won't work in PF or HU or BTS
If you doubt me, go read the rules about drawing PPE from people. They are similar, but not the same.
Feel free to show your work and cite some pages. I find nothing on p. 183 of Palldium Fantasy 2E that would prevent it from working, nor on page 317 of HU 2E, nor on BTS 1E p. 94.
Then you can show that you are allowed to use combat?
Because those three say "blood sacrifice" and "where the mage murders the victim" not "combat where the mage kills their foe with a strike roll"
While your at it I would love to see a citation saying that you can tap into more than one PPE source at one time. Since the rules state "the sacrifice" not "Sacrifices" so if you want to claim you can draw upon a couple hundred separate PPE sources all at once that's cool... show your work that you can do that.
dreicunan wrote:eliakon wrote:dreicunan wrote:eliakon wrote:I would like to point out that magic in Rifts works differently than magic in Palladium Fantasy.
Thus while this might work therefore in Rifts
It won't work in PF or HU or BTS
If you doubt me, go read the rules about drawing PPE from people. They are similar, but not the same.
Feel free to show your work and cite some pages. I find nothing on p. 183 of Palldium Fantasy 2E that would prevent it from working, nor on page 317 of HU 2E, nor on BTS 1E p. 94.
Then you can show that you are allowed to use combat?
Because those three say "blood sacrifice" and "where the mage murders the victim" not "combat where the mage kills their foe with a strike roll"
While your at it I would love to see a citation saying that you can tap into more than one PPE source at one time. Since the rules state "the sacrifice" not "Sacrifices" so if you want to claim you can draw upon a couple hundred separate PPE sources all at once that's cool... show your work that you can do that.
I already showed that combat is allowable per Book of Magic, p. 21, earlier in the thread. Thank you for clarifying that you have absolutely no support for your assertion. The mage doesn't kill their foe with a strike roll, of course. They likely use a weapon of some kind, or perhaps a spell. Perhaps their bare hands, or a guillotine. Saying that the mage has to murder somone does not in any way, shape, or form exclude combat. You can murder someone in a Palladium game in a situation that would require a player to roll to strike for a character.
The rules make clear that a mage can tap into more than one source of PPE in numerous places, such as RUE p. 186, as Axelmania cited. But to help make this abundantly clear, BTS 1E p. 94 allowed a mage to tap into PPE from both the sacrifice and the cult leader, and has several other statements allowing a mage to get PPE from multiple sources. HU 2E p. 316-317 also mentions multiple ways to absorb PPE from multiple sources, as does Palladium Fantasy 2E p. 183. (In other words, the same pages, plus p. 316 of HU 2E, that I previiusly mentioned, and als).
As for sacrifice issue, it is true that the language used in the varying game lines is oriented around a singular victim. So if you want to take that to mean that it has to be one at a time, fine, though I personally agree with Mack that multiple sacrifices in a ritual would be fine. But even in the case that you are correct, I would just need to alter my device to move a bunch of rats through a killing ground in an efficient way so that I can rapidly absorb their PPE one after another.
@Axelmania: Through the Glass Darkly has the bloodmage limitation, which does mentikn PPE doubling on death. It does seem odd that Nightbane, of all game lines, would not have clearer rules for getting PPE through blood sacrifice!
The Beast wrote:
Anyway, when taking the above into consideration, I would say that all the summoned rodents would have to be killed at the climax of a ritual by either the mage performing it, or by those participating in it. Their deaths would have to occur fairly quickly, unless the mage had made some sort of alter or something to collect all the PPE in, similar to the slaughterhouse in TtGD.
The Beast wrote:Mysteries of Magic, page 25 points out that drawing a sacrifice's PPE for a ritual requires two actions, one to kill the sacrifice and one to absorb the PPE. It also states that if someone dies nearby, they had nothing to do with the ritual and therefore the mage can't absorb the PPE from that death.
Page 24 states that you can't draw PPE from someone while in combat because they see you as an enemy, and you can't draw from wild animals for the same reason. It also states that a pet will instinctively resist such attempts as well.
I also recall reading a line that stated mages can't walk around an active battlefield and absorb the PPE from the fallen, due to the mage needing to be mystically prepared to receive the PPE. However I can't seem to find that line right now. I thought it was in Mysteries of Magic, but I don't see it in there. Maybe it was a Rifter Q&A. Perhaps someone here knows what I'm talking about and can point it out for us.
Anyway, when taking the above into consideration, I would say that all the summoned rodents would have to be killed at the climax of a ritual by either the mage performing it, or by those participating in it. Their deaths would have to occur fairly quickly, unless the mage had made some sort of alter or something to collect all the PPE in, similar to the slaughterhouse in TtGD.
The Beast wrote:Mysteries of Magic, page 25 points out that drawing a sacrifice's PPE for a ritual requires two actions, one to kill the sacrifice and one to absorb the PPE. It also states that if someone dies nearby, they had nothing to do with the ritual and therefore the mage can't absorb the PPE from that death.
Page 24 states that you can't draw PPE from someone while in combat because they see you as an enemy, and you can't draw from wild animals for the same reason. It also states that a pet will instinctively resist such attempts as well.
I also recall reading a line that stated mages can't walk around an active battlefield and absorb the PPE from the fallen, due to the mage needing to be mystically prepared to receive the PPE. However I can't seem to find that line right now. I thought it was in Mysteries of Magic, but I don't see it in there. Maybe it was a Rifter Q&A. Perhaps someone here knows what I'm talking about and can point it out for us.
Anyway, when taking the above into consideration, I would say that all the summoned rodents would have to be killed at the climax of a ritual by either the mage performing it, or by those participating in it. Their deaths would have to occur fairly quickly, unless the mage had made some sort of alter or something to collect all the PPE in, similar to the slaughterhouse in TtGD.
Book of Magic page 21 makes it clear that you actually CAN draw the PPE from someone you slay in combat. To do so you have to be the one who delivers the death blow and also KNOW that you delivered a death blow so that you can be prepared to absorb the PPE. Thus, you generally can't absorb it in conflict due to the lack of being prepared to absorb the PPE (because you are busy fighting), not because combat prevents it in and of itself.
The same clarification makes it clear that you can absorb the PPE from someone dying in your arms or on their deathbed if the mage is prepared to do so. Blood sacrifice is a convenient way of making sure that you are ready to absorb the PPE at the moment of death, not a prerequisite for doing so.
dreicunan wrote:The Beast wrote:Mysteries of Magic, page 25 points out that drawing a sacrifice's PPE for a ritual requires two actions, one to kill the sacrifice and one to absorb the PPE. It also states that if someone dies nearby, they had nothing to do with the ritual and therefore the mage can't absorb the PPE from that death.
Page 24 states that you can't draw PPE from someone while in combat because they see you as an enemy, and you can't draw from wild animals for the same reason. It also states that a pet will instinctively resist such attempts as well.
I also recall reading a line that stated mages can't walk around an active battlefield and absorb the PPE from the fallen, due to the mage needing to be mystically prepared to receive the PPE. However I can't seem to find that line right now. I thought it was in Mysteries of Magic, but I don't see it in there. Maybe it was a Rifter Q&A. Perhaps someone here knows what I'm talking about and can point it out for us.
Anyway, when taking the above into consideration, I would say that all the summoned rodents would have to be killed at the climax of a ritual by either the mage performing it, or by those participating in it. Their deaths would have to occur fairly quickly, unless the mage had made some sort of alter or something to collect all the PPE in, similar to the slaughterhouse in TtGD.
Thank you for citing things!
Page 24 says that you can't draw PPE from someone else while in combat in the context of that person still being alive. It doesn't say that you can't absorb the PPE if you slay someone. It also says that it "USUALLY" takes two actions to absorb it, and that it is "TYPICALLY" part of a ritual. The use of those terms means, of course, that there are contexts where that isn't the case; in traditional Palladium fashion, it doesn't bother to list where it wouldn't apply. Book of Magic p. 21 talks about how you can't normally draw PPE in combat because you aren't prepared to do so. Actually, I'll just quote what I wrote before:Book of Magic page 21 makes it clear that you actually CAN draw the PPE from someone you slay in combat. To do so you have to be the one who delivers the death blow and also KNOW that you delivered a death blow so that you can be prepared to absorb the PPE. Thus, you generally can't absorb it in conflict due to the lack of being prepared to absorb the PPE (because you are busy fighting), not because combat prevents it in and of itself.
The same clarification makes it clear that you can absorb the PPE from someone dying in your arms or on their deathbed if the mage is prepared to do so. Blood sacrifice is a convenient way of making sure that you are ready to absorb the PPE at the moment of death, not a prerequisite for doing so.
pblackcrow wrote:...And your argument about a mage not being able to absorb from multiple targets at once is more that a bit odd...especially when you consider what a nexus is! 2 OR MORE Ley lines converging into a single spot.
eliakon wrote:dreicunan wrote:The Beast wrote:Mysteries of Magic, page 25 points out that drawing a sacrifice's PPE for a ritual requires two actions, one to kill the sacrifice and one to absorb the PPE. It also states that if someone dies nearby, they had nothing to do with the ritual and therefore the mage can't absorb the PPE from that death.
Page 24 states that you can't draw PPE from someone while in combat because they see you as an enemy, and you can't draw from wild animals for the same reason. It also states that a pet will instinctively resist such attempts as well.
I also recall reading a line that stated mages can't walk around an active battlefield and absorb the PPE from the fallen, due to the mage needing to be mystically prepared to receive the PPE. However I can't seem to find that line right now. I thought it was in Mysteries of Magic, but I don't see it in there. Maybe it was a Rifter Q&A. Perhaps someone here knows what I'm talking about and can point it out for us.
Anyway, when taking the above into consideration, I would say that all the summoned rodents would have to be killed at the climax of a ritual by either the mage performing it, or by those participating in it. Their deaths would have to occur fairly quickly, unless the mage had made some sort of alter or something to collect all the PPE in, similar to the slaughterhouse in TtGD.
Thank you for citing things!
Page 24 says that you can't draw PPE from someone else while in combat in the context of that person still being alive. It doesn't say that you can't absorb the PPE if you slay someone. It also says that it "USUALLY" takes two actions to absorb it, and that it is "TYPICALLY" part of a ritual. The use of those terms means, of course, that there are contexts where that isn't the case; in traditional Palladium fashion, it doesn't bother to list where it wouldn't apply. Book of Magic p. 21 talks about how you can't normally draw PPE in combat because you aren't prepared to do so. Actually, I'll just quote what I wrote before:Book of Magic page 21 makes it clear that you actually CAN draw the PPE from someone you slay in combat. To do so you have to be the one who delivers the death blow and also KNOW that you delivered a death blow so that you can be prepared to absorb the PPE. Thus, you generally can't absorb it in conflict due to the lack of being prepared to absorb the PPE (because you are busy fighting), not because combat prevents it in and of itself.
The same clarification makes it clear that you can absorb the PPE from someone dying in your arms or on their deathbed if the mage is prepared to do so. Blood sacrifice is a convenient way of making sure that you are ready to absorb the PPE at the moment of death, not a prerequisite for doing so.
You realize you are proving my point for me?
That the rules of magic in PF (which are governed by the various PF books only) and the rules of magic in Rifts (which are governed by the various Rifts books only) are different?
that citing a rifts rule in PF is pointless?
We already conceded that this trick would allow you to kill things en-mass in Rifts... but that as there is no rule in Rifts allowing mages to tap multiple sources at once it would require the GMs permission to let you tap even 1 rat per level (the maximum number of sources a mage can tap in all the other games) let alone all of them
And it just flatly won't work at all in PF where you are explicitly prohibited from doing this sort of thing.
Its ability to work in HU and BTS is conjectural at this point (and would still be limited to 1 rat per level based on the PPE rules of those games)
dreicunan wrote:eliakon wrote:dreicunan wrote:The Beast wrote:Mysteries of Magic, page 25 points out that drawing a sacrifice's PPE for a ritual requires two actions, one to kill the sacrifice and one to absorb the PPE. It also states that if someone dies nearby, they had nothing to do with the ritual and therefore the mage can't absorb the PPE from that death.
Page 24 states that you can't draw PPE from someone while in combat because they see you as an enemy, and you can't draw from wild animals for the same reason. It also states that a pet will instinctively resist such attempts as well.
I also recall reading a line that stated mages can't walk around an active battlefield and absorb the PPE from the fallen, due to the mage needing to be mystically prepared to receive the PPE. However I can't seem to find that line right now. I thought it was in Mysteries of Magic, but I don't see it in there. Maybe it was a Rifter Q&A. Perhaps someone here knows what I'm talking about and can point it out for us.
Anyway, when taking the above into consideration, I would say that all the summoned rodents would have to be killed at the climax of a ritual by either the mage performing it, or by those participating in it. Their deaths would have to occur fairly quickly, unless the mage had made some sort of alter or something to collect all the PPE in, similar to the slaughterhouse in TtGD.
Thank you for citing things!
Page 24 says that you can't draw PPE from someone else while in combat in the context of that person still being alive. It doesn't say that you can't absorb the PPE if you slay someone. It also says that it "USUALLY" takes two actions to absorb it, and that it is "TYPICALLY" part of a ritual. The use of those terms means, of course, that there are contexts where that isn't the case; in traditional Palladium fashion, it doesn't bother to list where it wouldn't apply. Book of Magic p. 21 talks about how you can't normally draw PPE in combat because you aren't prepared to do so. Actually, I'll just quote what I wrote before:Book of Magic page 21 makes it clear that you actually CAN draw the PPE from someone you slay in combat. To do so you have to be the one who delivers the death blow and also KNOW that you delivered a death blow so that you can be prepared to absorb the PPE. Thus, you generally can't absorb it in conflict due to the lack of being prepared to absorb the PPE (because you are busy fighting), not because combat prevents it in and of itself.
The same clarification makes it clear that you can absorb the PPE from someone dying in your arms or on their deathbed if the mage is prepared to do so. Blood sacrifice is a convenient way of making sure that you are ready to absorb the PPE at the moment of death, not a prerequisite for doing so.
You realize you are proving my point for me?
That the rules of magic in PF (which are governed by the various PF books only) and the rules of magic in Rifts (which are governed by the various Rifts books only) are different?
that citing a rifts rule in PF is pointless?
We already conceded that this trick would allow you to kill things en-mass in Rifts... but that as there is no rule in Rifts allowing mages to tap multiple sources at once it would require the GMs permission to let you tap even 1 rat per level (the maximum number of sources a mage can tap in all the other games) let alone all of them
And it just flatly won't work at all in PF where you are explicitly prohibited from doing this sort of thing.
Its ability to work in HU and BTS is conjectural at this point (and would still be limited to 1 rat per level based on the PPE rules of those games)
Sure, the different lines have different rules (I was mentioning Mysteries of Magic again as a potential source of where The Beast might have read the line about mages not being able to walk around an active battlefield).
There is a rule in Rifts allowing you to take the PPE from anyone with 20 ft who gives it up voluntarily and from anyone in an unlimited range when done as part of a ritual on p. 186 that has already been cited by Axelmania, so clearly there are rules in Rifts allowing mages to tap multiple sources at once.
You are also wrong about your previous assertion that every instance of absorbing from multiple sources outside of the Rifts line limits it to 1 source per level. From what I can tell, none of the lines that allow it (near as I can tell, Nightbane doesn't have anything to say on the matter).
Palladium Fantasy 2E p. 181 makes it clear that you can absorb the PPE from up to 10 participants at once without any kind of ritual, and places no limits on the number of people beyond that involved in a ritual. Mysteries of Magic p. 24 has the same text, this time noting that when done without a ritual there is also a radius limit of 10 ft per level of experience.
Heroes Unlimited 2E has the same rules about up to 10 without a ritual and more than 10 with a ritual on page 316.
BTU 1E allows you tap up to THREE people per level who are unwilling or unaware (also a static 60 ft range). For willing participants, the range is 60 ft plus 100 ft per level of experience, and the limit is SIX people per level, or 12 if you have an MA of 22. As written, it is exactly 22, though I would imagine that most people would read that as 22+. In rituals, it allows you to get the full amount of PPE from each participant +1, though they have some odd semi-limits on that, with the "optimal" number being 12, but then an ME of 17 letting you manage 13-20, ME 22 letting the leader handle 21-32, and ME 26+ letting them handle 33-56 members.
dreicunan wrote:The use of multiple animals in PF, at least in series, is clearly allowed, or it would make no sense for p. 25 of Mysteries of Magic to talk about how 20 cattle a day can provide the PPE necessary for a Summoner to do their thing or for a Wizard to stop a storm.
eliakon wrote:dreicunan wrote:The use of multiple animals in PF, at least in series, is clearly allowed, or it would make no sense for p. 25 of Mysteries of Magic to talk about how 20 cattle a day can provide the PPE necessary for a Summoner to do their thing or for a Wizard to stop a storm.
Nonsense.
It doesn't say 20 cattle at once after all.
You could slaughter them over a period of time, stocking up on the PPE one at a time. Since mages can hold extra PPE for a certain amount of time.
dreicunan wrote:The rules make clear that a mage can tap into more than one source of PPE in numerous places, such as RUE p. 186, as Axelmania cited. But to help make this abundantly clear, BTS 1E p. 94 allowed a mage to tap into PPE from both the sacrifice and the cult leader, and has several other statements allowing a mage to get PPE from multiple sources. HU 2E p. 316-317 also mentions multiple ways to absorb PPE from multiple sources, as does Palladium Fantasy 2E p. 183
dreicunan wrote:I already showed that combat is allowable per Book of Magic, p. 21, earlier in the thread. Thank you for clarifying that you have absolutely no support for your assertion. The mage doesn't kill their foe with a strike roll, of course. They likely use a weapon of some kind, or perhaps a spell. Perhaps their bare hands, or a guillotine.
The Beast wrote:Mysteries of Magic, page 25 points out that drawing a sacrifice's PPE for a ritual requires two actions, one to kill the sacrifice and one to absorb the PPE. It also states that if someone dies nearby, they had nothing to do with the ritual and therefore the mage can't absorb the PPE from that death.
The Beast wrote:Page 24 states that you can't draw PPE from someone while in combat because they see you as an enemy, and you can't draw from wild animals for the same reason.
The Beast wrote:It also states that a pet will instinctively resist such attempts as well.
The Beast wrote:Their deaths would have to occur fairly quickly, unless the mage had made some sort of alter or something to collect all the PPE in, similar to the slaughterhouse in TtGD.
eliakon wrote:I would also note that every instance of where we are told that you can absorb PPE from more than one source at a single time limits you to one source per level.
So at best, this would net you 2d4 PPE per caster level...
...that isn't really all that impressive.
dreicunan wrote:BTS 1E let's you do 3 people per level, which is made clear in my post, which you quoted.
dreicunan wrote:Axelmania wrote:Nightbane 122-123 only seems to discuss getting PPE from ley lines (and at the lower, RMB levels, not the awesoem PF levels, which makes sense since NB preceded PF2) I can't find anything about taking it from people (even voluntarily!) does that mean CJ didn't intend it for the setting or that it was an oversight during C+P from preceding books' rules?
@Axelmania: Through the Glass Darkly has the bloodmage limitation, which does mentikn PPE doubling on death. It does seem odd that Nightbane, of all game lines, would not have clearer rules for getting PPE through blood sacrifice!
pblackcrow wrote:get into a metal bucket,
half full of water,
and than putting ones hand about 2 inches from the bucket,
and casting the spell energy bolt...
channeling the energy through that hand
pblackcrow wrote:So far, we have established that out of all the games Rifts, Chaos Earth, PF, HU, NB, N&Ss, BtS, ETC...NONE OF THEM GIVE EXACTLY CLEAR AND THE SAME DETALES. So, please try not to take it personally.
I am enjoying this conversation immensely.
Jack Burton wrote:pblackcrow wrote:So far, we have established that out of all the games Rifts, Chaos Earth, PF, HU, NB, N&Ss, BtS, ETC...NONE OF THEM GIVE EXACTLY CLEAR AND THE SAME DETALES. So, please try not to take it personally.
I am enjoying this conversation immensely.
It's funny... I was catching up on this thread and about a minute before I scrolled down to what you said, I was thinking the very same thing.
Every game is a stand alone game and although they purport to be compatible... well.... they only sort of are. When conflicting answers that apply to the same root question are found in books of different game settings, that's when the GM steps in and exerts a healthy dose of common sense.
This is why I'm a proponent of ONE core book for basic Palladium rules, then each game line gets its own setting book for nuances specific to it such as the I.S.P. boost for Beyond the Supernatural or Chi for Ninjas and Superspies. All the other rules that should be standardized would then be, well, standardized. Trying to mix, match and borrow rules for different games and then try and make them work under the banner of one big happy Megaverse is itself a full-time job for players and GMs. It's exhausting. The term Megaverse sounds swell, but it's a misnomer. All Palladium games are NOT created equal, so I wish they'd either stop using that term or seriously tighten up their rules across the board (and publish a core Megaversal System rule book).
Curbludgeon wrote:That's laughable to the point of questioning the speaker's motivation for yarnspinning. There has been oft-expressed interest in a codified set of rules for Palladium games for the better part of 30 years. It is in no way a question of whether or not such a product would sell. It is instead a function of what one might charitably call an unwillingness to submit to revision via a competent editor.
eliakon wrote:Curbludgeon wrote:That's laughable to the point of questioning the speaker's motivation for yarnspinning. There has been oft-expressed interest in a codified set of rules for Palladium games for the better part of 30 years. It is in no way a question of whether or not such a product would sell. It is instead a function of what one might charitably call an unwillingness to submit to revision via a competent editor.
No it is pretty easy actually.
Palladium Fantasy shows us the pitfalls.
If you redo the entire system into a 3e then you will have 2 big issues
1) you just made all the RT/Macross stuff totally useless since you can't bring them 3e compliant and they won't be 3e compatable.
2) your new 'core book' will make all the other books as obsolete as PF2 made PF1 books. This is because in the process of standardizing things you would be required to remove all the things that differ... which would, by nesesity require that your new rules be no longer compatable with any of the other materials before.
This leads to
3) so now you have to convince everyone to rebuy all the books.
Again
This might work for Rifts. And you might even get some headway on some of the other lines... but there is no way in heck that your going to recoup the losses from having to write off your entire current stock of books and start over from scratch.
I get that there is a desire by a small but vocal segment of the community for a single set of rules. I get that. But that segment of the community has not the slightest understanding of the issues involved in what they are asking for.
Basically they are asking for the moon, on a silver platter... and then boggled that they aren't getting it and yesterday to boot!
The attempt at Ultimate Edition change over was a problem to big to handle and Palladium still hasn't managed to even finish that process! The idea that they could handle a bigger one, on every line, at the same time is beyond absurd and into the realm of purest fantasy.
Jack Burton wrote:eliakon wrote:Curbludgeon wrote:That's laughable to the point of questioning the speaker's motivation for yarnspinning. There has been oft-expressed interest in a codified set of rules for Palladium games for the better part of 30 years. It is in no way a question of whether or not such a product would sell. It is instead a function of what one might charitably call an unwillingness to submit to revision via a competent editor.
No it is pretty easy actually.
Palladium Fantasy shows us the pitfalls.
If you redo the entire system into a 3e then you will have 2 big issues
1) you just made all the RT/Macross stuff totally useless since you can't bring them 3e compliant and they won't be 3e compatable.
2) your new 'core book' will make all the other books as obsolete as PF2 made PF1 books. This is because in the process of standardizing things you would be required to remove all the things that differ... which would, by nesesity require that your new rules be no longer compatable with any of the other materials before.
This leads to
3) so now you have to convince everyone to rebuy all the books.
Again
This might work for Rifts. And you might even get some headway on some of the other lines... but there is no way in heck that your going to recoup the losses from having to write off your entire current stock of books and start over from scratch.
I get that there is a desire by a small but vocal segment of the community for a single set of rules. I get that. But that segment of the community has not the slightest understanding of the issues involved in what they are asking for.
Basically they are asking for the moon, on a silver platter... and then boggled that they aren't getting it and yesterday to boot!
The attempt at Ultimate Edition change over was a problem to big to handle and Palladium still hasn't managed to even finish that process! The idea that they could handle a bigger one, on every line, at the same time is beyond absurd and into the realm of purest fantasy.
Of course they'll never write a core book. I know that. They can't even produce books for the lines they support now. I'm still going to state my opinion, though. If other companies took your advice, they'd never have moved past 1st edition of anything. Robotech is a dead line anyway. Robotech and TMNT are now like Recon... they're their own games. Enjoy them for what they are.
Jack Burton wrote:I have to seriously disagree with your explanation of compatibility, though. You're right in that compatible doesn't mean "the exact same as" or "identical." Of course. Everyone knows that. But hear me out on this one...
Let's say you need to replace a broken part on your car. It's an easy part, so even someone not very skilled in auto repair (like me) can replace it. You could go to the dealership and pay an exorbitant price for a factory part. Nah, you'd rather go to the auto parts store and get a "compatible" part that works just fine, but for a fraction of the price. You know it's not "the exact same as", nor is it "identical." If it were "the exact same as" or "identical," it would be that factory part that you're not going to buy. You end up getting the "compatible" part at the auto store. So far, so good.
You remove the broken part, unpackaged the "compatible" part, and go to install it. Hmmm... it's not fitting. Hold on... you look at the packaging and confirm that it says it's "compatible" with your make, model and year of vehicle. You try again. It's still not fitting. What's the deal? You reexamine the packaging and realize that the part is machined for a Metric Measurement fitting, not an Imperial Measurement fitting. The only way you can use that part in your car is to take it to a machine shop and have it milled to the correct specifications. So, it's not compatible, is it? But wait, the package said it IS compatible! You should be able to just install it without any problems! You know it's not "the exact same as", nor is it "identical," but both parts are basically the same (more or less). You're starting to think that you blithely thought that "compatible" means "identical." (sorry, I couldn't resist)
So tell me, would this make you super peeved that the company that made the part used the term "compatible" so inaccurately? It's NOT compatible. Any reasonable person would agree that that part is in fact, not compatible, although with some effort you COULD make it compatible. Now, if you think that all "Megaversal" stuff is compatible, then so is all Call of Cthulhu, Starfinder or D&D stuff. All you need to do is make some tweaks here and there and you can use it in a Palladium game, right?
Jack Burton wrote:So, to recap... compatible means not the same, but effortlessly interchangeable. Megaversal stuff is NOT interchangeable without effort. I'm fine with that. My issue is that it's A) Unnecessary to have so many rule nuances across the different games. The "flavor" that's added for each genre's ruleset to be unique is dwarfed by the annoyance and uncertainty of trying to piecemeal rules from here and there to cobble together a workable game. I don't necessarily think many of those rule nuances are intentional, though (hence the need for a core rule book.. yes, I said it again), and B) Books are advertised as being "compatible" when in fact, the rules in them conflict with so many others.
eliakon wrote:Jack Burton wrote:eliakon wrote:Curbludgeon wrote:That's laughable to the point of questioning the speaker's motivation for yarnspinning. There has been oft-expressed interest in a codified set of rules for Palladium games for the better part of 30 years. It is in no way a question of whether or not such a product would sell. It is instead a function of what one might charitably call an unwillingness to submit to revision via a competent editor.
No it is pretty easy actually.
Palladium Fantasy shows us the pitfalls.
If you redo the entire system into a 3e then you will have 2 big issues
1) you just made all the RT/Macross stuff totally useless since you can't bring them 3e compliant and they won't be 3e compatable.
2) your new 'core book' will make all the other books as obsolete as PF2 made PF1 books. This is because in the process of standardizing things you would be required to remove all the things that differ... which would, by nesesity require that your new rules be no longer compatable with any of the other materials before.
This leads to
3) so now you have to convince everyone to rebuy all the books.
Again
This might work for Rifts. And you might even get some headway on some of the other lines... but there is no way in heck that your going to recoup the losses from having to write off your entire current stock of books and start over from scratch.
I get that there is a desire by a small but vocal segment of the community for a single set of rules. I get that. But that segment of the community has not the slightest understanding of the issues involved in what they are asking for.
Basically they are asking for the moon, on a silver platter... and then boggled that they aren't getting it and yesterday to boot!
The attempt at Ultimate Edition change over was a problem to big to handle and Palladium still hasn't managed to even finish that process! The idea that they could handle a bigger one, on every line, at the same time is beyond absurd and into the realm of purest fantasy.
Of course they'll never write a core book. I know that. They can't even produce books for the lines they support now. I'm still going to state my opinion, though. If other companies took your advice, they'd never have moved past 1st edition of anything. Robotech is a dead line anyway. Robotech and TMNT are now like Recon... they're their own games. Enjoy them for what they are.
Palladium tried to update.
That update failed, big time AND it was not popular with the fans.
That sort of suggests that maybe, just maybe... that trying ANOTHER even BIGGER update is probably a worse idea.
And as of right now Robtech and TMNT are at least somewhat compatible. There is zero to gain in abandoning all the players of those games and just saying "well we already have a really small player base... but lets make it even smaller and more exclusive by making two of our groups be unable to play anymore"
And frankly.... I look at companies like SJG as the gold standard for editions not WotC or White Wolf.Jack Burton wrote:I have to seriously disagree with your explanation of compatibility, though. You're right in that compatible doesn't mean "the exact same as" or "identical." Of course. Everyone knows that. But hear me out on this one...
Let's say you need to replace a broken part on your car. It's an easy part, so even someone not very skilled in auto repair (like me) can replace it. You could go to the dealership and pay an exorbitant price for a factory part. Nah, you'd rather go to the auto parts store and get a "compatible" part that works just fine, but for a fraction of the price. You know it's not "the exact same as", nor is it "identical." If it were "the exact same as" or "identical," it would be that factory part that you're not going to buy. You end up getting the "compatible" part at the auto store. So far, so good.
You remove the broken part, unpackaged the "compatible" part, and go to install it. Hmmm... it's not fitting. Hold on... you look at the packaging and confirm that it says it's "compatible" with your make, model and year of vehicle. You try again. It's still not fitting. What's the deal? You reexamine the packaging and realize that the part is machined for a Metric Measurement fitting, not an Imperial Measurement fitting. The only way you can use that part in your car is to take it to a machine shop and have it milled to the correct specifications. So, it's not compatible, is it? But wait, the package said it IS compatible! You should be able to just install it without any problems! You know it's not "the exact same as", nor is it "identical," but both parts are basically the same (more or less). You're starting to think that you blithely thought that "compatible" means "identical." (sorry, I couldn't resist)
So tell me, would this make you super peeved that the company that made the part used the term "compatible" so inaccurately? It's NOT compatible. Any reasonable person would agree that that part is in fact, not compatible, although with some effort you COULD make it compatible. Now, if you think that all "Megaversal" stuff is compatible, then so is all Call of Cthulhu, Starfinder or D&D stuff. All you need to do is make some tweaks here and there and you can use it in a Palladium game, right?
Ummmm I hate to break it to you but this is not a car part![]()
You might want to try using examples from the actual hobby itself instead of going to something else and using their version of the word and its meanings. Just a thought there....Jack Burton wrote:So, to recap... compatible means not the same, but effortlessly interchangeable. Megaversal stuff is NOT interchangeable without effort. I'm fine with that. My issue is that it's A) Unnecessary to have so many rule nuances across the different games. The "flavor" that's added for each genre's ruleset to be unique is dwarfed by the annoyance and uncertainty of trying to piecemeal rules from here and there to cobble together a workable game. I don't necessarily think many of those rule nuances are intentional, though (hence the need for a core rule book.. yes, I said it again), and B) Books are advertised as being "compatible" when in fact, the rules in them conflict with so many others.
It doesn't mean "Effortlessly interchangeable" though.
That's the entire point here.
The different games ARE compatible. You can use the material from any game in any other game with a minimum of work, often no work at all.
But They Are Different Games.
That's the entire point.
If they were all one game? Then you might have a point.
As for the argument that somehow the fact that different games have different rules? That argument is beyond absurd. No really it is. You are literally complaining that the entire point of having different games is what you dislike... and I'm sorry but when your complaint is that the defining feature of something is what you dislike...then it is not a 'mild gripe' it is a fundamental "I feel that the world should cater to my whims" level of entitlement.
As for the differences? I beg to differ. From my examinations over the years as I have worked to bring things from one game to another game it has looked to me like the differences were usually quite intentional. What is thematically appropriate for a fantasy game may not be appropriate in a horror game, or a super hero game or a space game etc.
Thus a core book would basically end up a really expensive boondoggle that does nothing productive, at all, other than firmly kill the entire game and ensure that there are no more books, at all.
That doesn't seem to be of value at all...
Mlp7029 wrote:So do not call it a sacrifice. Will this work per the rules:
1) Pit full of creatures (how you get them in the pit is not relevant)
2) Kill the creatures (spell or plasma grenade, etc.)
3) Absorb the doubled PPE form all the deaths. Only stores up to three times your normal PPE level.
4) Cast desired spell using the extra PPE.