Can spells be used as a defensive action like parry or dodge

Ley Line walkers, Juicers, Coalition Troops, Samas, Tolkeen, & The Federation Of Magic. Come together here to discuss all things Rifts®.

Moderators: Immortals, Supreme Beings, Old Ones

jburkett
Wanderer

Can spells be used as a defensive action like parry or dodge

Unread post by jburkett »

hello, I am relatively new to Rifts magic and the game mechanics for spell casting. My question is can: is there an instance where a spell caster can use a spell as a defensive action? For example: You are attacked with someone casting Fire Bolt (or an energy weapon). Can a player cast Armor of Ithan or some other spell as a defensive action (like they would a parry or dodge) or would they have needed to cast Armor of Ithan prior to the attack for it to be effective? I ask this only because I am comparing this to other game systems (like D&D 5e) where I believe spells can be cast as a reaction (defensively) to incoming attacks. If you can point me in the direction of a written rule for this or if you have a set of House Rules that you use that you find effective to allow this, I would be appreciative. I understand that this is, most likely, going to be a House Rule. Thanks in advance!
ShadowLogan
Palladin

Re: Can spells be used as a defensive action like parry or d

Unread post by ShadowLogan »

The same question arises with Psychics, and per the Telekinetic Force Field Power: Yes they can.

It should be noted the only way a mage could cast a spell as a defensive action (non-automatic parry, so it would use an action) is if the spell was low level enough they could get it off in time
eliakon
Palladin
Comment: Palladium Books Canon is set solely by Kevin Siembieda, either in person, or by his approval of published material.

Unread post by eliakon »

ShadowLogan wrote:The same question arises with Psychics, and per the Telekinetic Force Field Power: Yes they can.