Wait, how many spells do 1st-lvl Wizard O.C.C.'s get in 2E?

1st edition? 2nd edition? It doesnt matter! Let's just talk Palladium Fantasy.

Moderators: Immortals, Supreme Beings, Old Ones

Gaunilo
D-Bee

Wait, how many spells do 1st-lvl Wizard O.C.C.'s get in 2E?

Unread post by Gaunilo »

I'm a newbie to Palladium. Can someone kindly help me understand how many spells a 1st wizard gets and which levels of spells? The 2E rulebook mentions 6 common knowledge spells, but then, under "additional spells," says: The player may select 2 spells of choice each level 1 and 2, and 1 from level 3 and 4...," but then says they get only one new spell at each level "starting with level one..." up to their current level. Does this mean at 1st level one gets the 6 common knowledge spells, p!us an additional 2 level-1 spells, p!us 1 more lvl-1 spell? Certainly it doesnt mean the 6 common knowledge spells, plus 2 level-1 spells, 2 level-2 spells,1 level-3 spell, 1 level-4 spell, p!us 1 more level-1 spell for good measure. Right?
Veknironth
Hero

Re: Wait, how many spells do 1st-lvl Wizard O.C.C.'s get in

Unread post by Veknironth »

Well, I always took it as you start at level one and each new level you can select new spells. So at 1st level you have the 6 common knowledge spells, two 1st of your choice, 2nd, one 3rd, and one 4th. So that totaks to 12. That is assuming that the Wizard hasn't come from wealth and paid someone to teach him or her additional ones.

-Vek
"Minimum of 12, maximum of all spells."
The Dark Elf
Rifter® Contributer
Comment: "So gentlemen, are you prepared to open your minds and travel to worlds hitherto undreamed of?"

Unread post by The Dark Elf »

6 Common Knowledge spells: Decipher magic, sense magic, cloud of slumber, globe of daylight, and tongues, plus enchanted cauldron.

2 spells from lvl 1
2 spells form lvl 2
1 spell from lvl 3
1 spell form lvl 4