Board index » SDC Worlds » Ninjas & Superspies™ & Mystic China™

 


Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.
Author Message
Unread postPosted: Sat Nov 04, 2017 11:39 pm
  

User avatar
Knight

Joined: Sun Dec 27, 2015 1:13 pm
Posts: 5980
If you knew magic in your past life would 'sense magic' and similar pick up on you if your memories of how to cast magic had not returned?


          Top  
 
Unread postPosted: Sun Nov 05, 2017 12:07 am
  

User avatar
Monk

Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2000 1:01 am
Posts: 15949
Location: Eastvale, calif
Rifter 1, page 117 is the only published text that covers this outside the text about enlighten immortals in the MC book..

_________________
Q's on this board need canon answers first for the question that was asked. Then you can post your own opinions or house rules, they need to be listed/declareds as your own opinions or house rules.

Crimson
Eleven
Delight
Petracor


          Top  
 
Unread postPosted: Tue Nov 07, 2017 6:47 pm
  

User avatar
Demon Lord Extraordinaire

Joined: Sun Apr 03, 2005 3:28 pm
Posts: 6512
Location: Apocrypha
Comment: You probably think this comment is about you, don't you?
Axelmania wrote:
If you knew magic in your past life would 'sense magic' and similar pick up on you if your memories of how to cast magic had not returned?


I'd go with no, but only if the current life hasn't built up a large PPE base and the method of reincarnation doesn't make the person a creature of magic. Now once the memories return, I'd also say the person would have to rebuild their PPE base before being able to be picked up by Sense Magic.

drewkitty ~..~ wrote:
Rifter 1, page 117 is the only published text that covers this outside the text about enlighten immortals in the MC book..


Are you sure you're not thinking about Rifter 3, page 55? Because what you pointed out seems to be more for BTS, and doesn't feel like an enlightened immortal to me.


          Top  
 
Unread postPosted: Tue Nov 07, 2017 9:31 pm
  

User avatar
Monk

Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2000 1:01 am
Posts: 15949
Location: Eastvale, calif
The Beast wrote:
drewkitty ~..~ wrote:
Rifter 1, page 117 is the only published text that covers this outside the text about enlighten immortals in the MC book..


Are you sure you're not thinking about Rifter 3, page 55? Because what you pointed out seems to be more for BTS, and doesn't feel like an enlightened immortal to me.

What you pointed out is a part of a large article of a conversion to rifts of the stuff in the MC book. As such I mentioned both 'the canon' for N&S/MC and 'the rifter optional'. Each with it's own flavor. And the class in the rifter 1 article actually looks like it fits the question being asked. Since the OP didn't mention the EI.

Besides, this is the N&S/MC forum. So why would I bring up something meant for Rifts when I mentioned the canon original? :-?

_________________
Q's on this board need canon answers first for the question that was asked. Then you can post your own opinions or house rules, they need to be listed/declareds as your own opinions or house rules.

Crimson
Eleven
Delight
Petracor


          Top  
 
Unread postPosted: Wed Nov 08, 2017 1:27 am
  

User avatar
Knight

Joined: Sun Dec 27, 2015 1:13 pm
Posts: 5980
Beast I don't believe the non-canon Rifts suggestion for MDC Enlightened Immortals in Rifter 3 actually addressed anything like this.

Drew the Transcendent by James Calder (though non-canon) does seem like neat guidelines for randomly determining past lives, but it doesn't really cover the discovery of memories over time.

Where it differs is permanence. Enlightened Immortals keep the knowledge they regain but:
    Once the danger has passed, the character suddenly forgets the knowledge and cannot recreate it

So even if you temporarily registered as magic when you cast Globe of Daylight, you lose that spell after and might cease to qualify as magic.

Beast about the 'enough PPE' thing, kids generally have a lot of it so that's the major concern here. I'm not even sure it's possible for kids to have less PPE than the amount you keep behind if you transfer it into other peoples to avoid detection as mage... for get name of spell which does that.


          Top  
 
Unread postPosted: Sat May 16, 2020 2:12 pm
  

User avatar
Champion

Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2003 4:59 pm
Posts: 2061
Location: Canada
No.
Sense Magic would detect "Magic."
Unless your reincarnated mage is now a creature of magic, or supernatural creature (which can only be traced to a "general" area).
A human mage with the maximum possible PPE would be undetectable until he cast a spell, at which point the SPELL would be detected.

If your reincarnated mage regains the KNOWLEDGE of how to cast spells, does not mean (s)he *can* cast spells. The mind knows how to do it, but the body can not *yet* do it. You'll have to re-train the body (i.e.: grow your PPE).

_________________
Fnord

Cool...I've been FAQed... atleast twice!

.sig count to date: 2

"May your day be as eventful as you wish, and may your life only hurt as much as it has to." - Me...

Normality is Relative, Sanity is Conceptual, and I am neither.


          Top  
 
Unread postPosted: Fri May 22, 2020 11:15 am
  

User avatar
Megaversal® Ambassador

Joined: Tue Nov 24, 2009 6:15 pm
Posts: 1396
Location: Ontario, Canada
Topic Locked for necromancy. 3 years between posts.

_________________
Oderint Dum Metuant.


          Top  
 
 
Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users


Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group